The New Dissertation Process- WHAT DO I DO NOW?!?

By Nicole Hughes –

 

In case all of the information about the new dissertation process (effective 9/17/14) has been lost in the shuffle, here’s a quick rundown:

1) Visit the Dissertation Clearance Websitehttp://alliant.libguides.com/LibraryClearance and read up on all the information you will need.

2) Get final approval from your chair and committee members, obtain signatures on the Library Dissertation/Doctoral Project Clearance Form (found under “Formatting Manual and Forms” on the above website). This would come after you’ve finished work with an editor (if you used one); the dissertation should be in what you consider the “final draft”.

3) Complete the Dissertation Cataloging form (also found under “Formatting Manual and Forms” on the above website).

4) Meet with your campus Student Affairs Representative to discuss deadlines and registration issues.

5) Schedule an appointment with your campus dissertation clearance librarian to discuss any final questions (bring completed forms from step 2 & 3 to this appointment):

Sacramento: Nicole Hughes (nhughes@alliant.edu)

San Francisco: Joe Tally (jtally@alliant.edu)

Fresno: Louise Colbert-Mar (lcolbert@alliant.edu)

Los Angeles: Shawna Hellenius (shellenius@alliant.edu)

Irvine: Erin Schmidt (eschmidt@alliant.edu)

San Diego: Scott Zimmer (szimmer@alliant.edu)

5) Submit a PDF of your dissertation to ProQuest (instructions in your dissertation manual). REMEMBER: The library review is for FORMATTING ONLY, not content.

6) Your campus dissertation clearance librarian is automatically notified of your submission. Your dissertation will be reviewed within 5 business days and a list of corrections along with instructions for resubmitting a corrected draft will be sent to you via e-mail.

7) Make the listed corrections and resubmit your draft for a second review. This process will be repeated until all corrections are made.

8) Once all corrections are made AND your dissertation clearance librarian has the completed forms from Steps 2 & 3, your dissertation will be approved and sent for publication to ProQuest. The day you receive the e-mail notifying you that your draft has been accepted is the same day your receipt of dissertation goes to the registrar’s office. This is your official date of dissertation completion.

Any questions during the dissertation process can be answered by the following:

Deadlines, financial aid, DEX, registration: Your campus Student Services Representative

Preliminary questions, final orals, dissertation manual: Your dissertation chair/committee members

Final review, finding an editor, ProQuest review process: Your campus dissertation clearance librarian

-Nicole

Advertisements

One Response to The New Dissertation Process- WHAT DO I DO NOW?!?

  1. […] in December, Nicole wrote an excellent blog post about the new dissertation process. This past month, I reviewed a total of 24 dissertations and I […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: